Our Former Presidents

We were established in 1977 and have an illustrious list of former Presidents, which the organisation is steeped in history and has had a seminal impact on South Africa during the past four decades.

We honour the following past Presidents:


Cliff LyddonESSO 
1979Bill Degenring †SA Cyanamid 
1980Darrel HuffmanRoyal Baking Powder 
1981Wayne ChesneyJohn Deere 
1982Rod IronsideGeneral MotorsHonorary Life Member
1983Ian LeachCaterpillarHonorary Life Member
1984Bill Degenring †SA Cyanamid 
1985-1986Frank Lubke †Chesebrough Ponds 
1987-1989Ian LeachCaterpillarHonorary Life Member
1990-1991Maurice AllenKombresco 
1992Jan Pieterse (Overseas)Upjohn 
1993-1994Roger CrawfordJohnson & JohnsonHonorary Life Member
1995-1996Bill MalloryIngersoll Rand 
1997-1999Jim MyersSBC Communications 
2000-2001Tim WoodModern Africa Fund ManagersHonorary Life Member
2002Ian Hardgrove3M 
2003Philippe BovayProcter & Gamble 
2004Mark HarrisIBM 
2005Charles GodfreyDeloitte 
2006-2008Roger CrawfordJohnson & JohnsonHonorary Life Member
2009-2010Doug FrankeSustainability Solutions AfricaHonorary Life Member
2011-2012Donna OosthuyseCITIHonorary Life Member
2013-2015Jeff NemethFord Motor Company South AfricaHonorary Life Member
2016-2018Stuart ClarksonADT Security (Pty) Ltd 
2018-2018Vittorio MassoneBain & Company South Africa 
2018-2020Craig ArnoldDow Southern Africa 
2020-2022Lee DawesGeneral Electric 
2022-2023Phillipine MtikitikiCoca-Cola South Africa 
2023-2024Cecilia Van RooiDow Southern Africa 



We honour the following past Executive Directors:


Stephen Pryke†
1980-1984Clark Else
1984-1985Steve Bisenius
1985-1987Ken Mason
1987-1989Adrian Botha
1989-1991Wayne Mitchell
1991-1993Michelle Cohen
1993-1994Denise Buckle
1994-2008Luanne Grant
2008-2019Carol O'Brien
2019-2022Angela Russell